top of page

Making Room for Rest



Making room for rest. It seems so simple doesn't it? But is it really that simple?


When you live in the 9-5 world, sometimes it can be hard to just take a breath. Between working sitting for long periods of time, to cooking, to doing errands, I used to think it was silly how much adults would complain about how busy they were. I mean, their problems couldn't be worse than my homework, sports practice, and final essay coming up...right? Cooking seemed simple. Buying groceries? Psh. Sounds fun. What did they have to complain about?


But when you finally make it young adulthood, you start to empathize with the older generation who had expressed these feelings of exhaustion this entire time. The feeling of needing to take a break every once in a while isn't dependent on age. No matter what age you are, you will always have a deadline to meet, something stressful that's happening, or a thing that you are responsible for. Where is the hope in all of this? Well, the hope is this: you can always make room for rest.


A Story on Rest


Recently, I've been really into watching YouTube videos about living what some would call a "slower life." In these videos, you can find inTrieste stories of living a rural lifestyle, in a cabin, while making delicious homemade bread. Oh. And did I mention that the people in these stories always tend to have the most astounding garden? (Here is one of my favorite YouTuber/Blogger: Calico & Twine or Girl in Calico.)


I see these videos with what seems like a relaxing lifestyle, but when I sit down and actually think through it, why can't I do the same? I may live in a bustling city with a digital job, but I think for all of us, we can make time to rest no matter our external circumstance. These videos have taught me that living slow is more attainable than we may think.


After watching these videos, it got me to think deeper about my own life. Here are some life lessons I've been learning recently about myself as I've tried to slow down.


Life Lessons About Rest

  1. Stop to think through your thoughts - In a world that can sometimes leave your brain feeling a little fried, never stop thinking about your beliefs, thoughts, and feelings. What you think about the world matters.

  2. Understand when to take a break - If you are like me, you may be the type to get semi-addicted to getting tasks done all in one round. Although this can be satisfying to check another item off your list quickly, you can often time wind up feeling burnt out. Know when it is your time to take a break.

  3. Know when to quit consuming - Whether it's social media, alcohol, or something else, you have to know when it's time to call it quits for the day. Consuming without boundaries can never lead you to fulfillment. And most of the time, it leaves you feeling emptier than you were before.

What's Next?

The next step is for you to put concept into action. It's great to turn to online or in-person sources to see how you can better manage your time and incorporate rest into your daily routines, but you won't be rested until you've actually... well.. rested. Here are some questions to ask yourself:

  • What makes me feel rested?

  • What hinders me from resting?

  • What can I shift in my schedule to get more time for rest?


My list of life lessons I gathered in the period of my life is just scratching the surface, and that's why I want to ask you about your thoughts. What life lessons have you learned about rest?

10 views
Wandering with Melon

Hi there!

My name is Melon, and I am oh so glad that you are here! Follow me along on my adventures and random bits of wisdom I learn along the way.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page