top of page

Living in Charlotte in Your 20s: Is it Worth it?


Charlotte NC in your 20s

Living in Charlotte, NC as a twenty-something is a dream come true. There are plenty of things to do, and you are only a short drive away from both the ocean and the mountains. You truly get the best of both worlds.


So if you are a millennial considering moving to the Queen City, you may have a few questions. Some of these questions may include is it affordable to move to Charlotte? What activities are there to do in Charlotte? Well I am here to answer those questions for you! Let's start by diving into the first thing you are thinking about... is it affordable to live in Charlotte?


Is Living in Charlotte, NC Affordable?

Charlotte NC in your 20s

The answer to this question is that it depends.


If you grew up in New York City, you may think Charlotte is a real bargain. Rent may seem reasonable to you, and the moving costs seem to be not too bad.


On the other hand, if you are moving from a rural town in Indiana, you may be thinking differently. It may seem like a luxurious leap to move out to Charlotte.


So because everyone's situation is different, I decided to look at the facts to help you determine if Charlotte is affordable to you or not. Here are some numbers you might find helpful.


Charlotte NC Average Monthly Cost to Rent an Apartment

  • Studio: $965

  • 1 Bedroom: $989

  • 2 Bedroom: $1133

  • 3 Bedroom: $1530

  • 4 Bedroom: $1961

Average Cost of Living in Charlotte NC

  • Median Home Price: $296,685

  • Median Rent: $929.39

  • Energy Bill: $153.91

  • The Cost of Living is 5% Lower Than the National Average.

How Much Do I Pay to Live in Charlotte NC?

Now let's cut the fluff. Obviously, I live in Charlotte, NC so how much do I pay for rent?


I live in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom in Eastover with 2 roommates. I pay $600 in rent every month and about $100 in gas, electricity, wifi, and renter's insurance. This is my portion of the cost. So if you are trying to be more budget conscious, I would highly suggest finding roommates!


Pin this Blog for Later!

What are the Best Things to Do in Charlotte in Your 20s?

Maybe you've decided that you are financially ready to move to Charlotte, but what are some of the best things to do as someone in your 20s? Here are a few of my top favorite things to do.

20 of the Best Things to Do In Charlotte NC

Charlotte NC in your 20s

Thinking About Moving to Charlotte in 2021?

Charlotte is very special place to live, and I hope that you get to experience the city even if you decide to move elsewhere. There is lots to do, and there always new places to eat and drink popping up all over the city!

12 views
Wandering with Melon

Hi there!

My name is Melon, and I am oh so glad that you are here! Follow me along on my adventures and random bits of wisdom I learn along the way.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page